FCS head coaching change tracker

NCAA Football

(Stats Perform) – The head coaching carousel in FCS college football has spun less following the 2019 season than the way it did in the previous two dizzying years, but it’s been active.

There were 25 different schools with a change atop their program between the start of the 2017 and ’18 seasons and another 25 with a change between the start of the 2018 and ’19 seasons.

Some schools, though, are moving toward a new era in 2020.

FCS schools that have had a head coaching change since the start of the 2019 season with date of change and new coach:

Arkansas-Pine Bluff: Cedric Thomas (Feb. 17) – new coach Doc Gamble (April 23)

Cal Poly: Tim Walsh (Nov. 25) – new coach Beau Baldwin (Dec. 11)

Central Connecticut State: interim coach Ryan McCarthy – new coach Ryan McCarthy (Oct. 16)

Eastern Kentucky: Mark Elder (Nov. 25) – new coach Walt Wells (Dec. 9)

Gardner-Webb: Carroll McCray (Nov. 24) – new coach Tre Lamb (Dec. 14)

Howard: Ron Prince (Dec. 6) – new coach Larry Scott (Feb. 5)

Lamar: Mike Schulz (Nov. 25) – new coach Blane Morgan (Dec. 12)

McNeese State: Sterlin Gilbert (Jan. 12) – new coach Frank Wilson (Jan. 16)

Mercer: Bobby Lamb (Nov. 24) – new coach Drew Cronic (Dec. 10)

Missouri State: Dave Steckel (Jan. 9) – new coach Bobby Petrino (Jan. 15)

Murray State: Mitch Stewart (Nov. 23) – new coach Dean Hood (Dec. 13)

Northern Colorado: Earnest Collins III (Nov. 24) – new coach Ed McCaffrey (Dec. 12)

Wagner: Jason Houghtaling (Dec. 6) – new coach Tom Masella (Dec. 7)

Youngtown State: Bo Pelini (Jan. 27) – new coach Doug Phillips (Feb. 7)

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Right Now

Don't Miss

KETK Twitter & Facebook

Community Calendar