J’Kaylin Dobbins wins the 7th annual Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


TYLER, Texas (KETK) (SPORTTyler) – J’Kaylin Dobbins was announced as the 2019 winner of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Wednesday.

“I’m honored to present the award to J.K. Dobbins,” Earl Campbell said. “All of these players had an amazing season. They all deserved their place as a finalist.”

Junior running back J.K. Dobbins, a La Grange, Texas native capped off a legendary three-year career with the Ohio State Buckeyes by becoming the first among a host of great running backs from the school to top 2,000 yards rushing in a season and only the 27th in official NCAA annals to top the total. He is the ninth Big Ten running back with over 2,000 yards rushing in one season.

Dobbins achieved his 2,003 rushing yards in 2019 by simply being the best against the best competition Ohio State faced during a 13-1 season that featured a third consecutive outright Big Ten Conference championship and a return to the College Football Playoffs. Dobbins rushed for 100-or-more yards 10 times in 2019, including averaging 174.6 yards per game and 6.5 yards per carry with 11 touchdowns against six defenses that were ranked among the Top 15 rush defenses in the nation coming into the game. Those rushes were, in order:

  • Dobbins rushed for 172 yards and a touchdown vs. Michigan State’s No. 4 rush defense;
  • He rushed for 163 yards and two touchdowns vs. Wisconsin’s No. 1 rush defense;
  • He rushed for 157 yards and two touchdowns vs. Penn State’s No. 4 rush defense;
  • He had a career-high 211 yards rushing and career-high four touchdowns vs. Michigan’s No. 13 rush defense;
  • He came back for another 172 yards and a TD in a Big Ten title game win over Wisconsin and its No. 7 rush defense; and
  • He capped his season and career with 174 yards rushing and a touchdown in the CFP semifinal vs. Clemson and its No. 9 rush defense.

Dobbins, who announced December 30 via his twitter account that he would forego his senior season and make himself eligible for the 2020 NFL Draft, departs Ohio State firmly established as one of the great running backs and players in school history. The first Ohio State player ever to rush for 1,000 or more yards as a freshman, sophomore, and junior, Dobbins finishes as the school’s second-leading rusher all-time with 4,459 yards, with the great Archie Griffin and his 5,589 yards the only player ahead of him.

Dobbins who made virtually every All-America team this year, including a first-team berth on the Football Writers Association of America team, averaged 106.2 yards per game over his career, and he totaled 5,104 all-purpose yards, with both figures ranking second in school history. His 6.2 yards per carry for his career was also second-best among Buckeyes.

Dobbins, a team captain in 2019, never missed a game in his three-year career, and he started 40 of the 42 games in which he played. He rushed for 100-or-more yards 19 times, and he caught 71 passes for 645 yards and five touchdowns.

Dobbins’ spectacular 2019 campaign included his being named a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, and a first-team all-Big Ten performer. 

The other four finalists for the award were:

Charlie Brewer, QB, Baylor, Jr. – Austin, TX (Lake Travis HS) Big-12

Shane Buechele, QB, SMU, Jr.-GT – Arlington, TX (Lamar HS) American Athletic Conference

Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma, Sr. – Houston, TX (Channelview HS) Big 12

CeeDee Lamb, WR, Oklahoma, Jr. – Richmond, TX (Foster HS) Big 12

This is the seventh year for the award.  Previous finalists and winners are listed below.

2013 Finalists

  • Jace Amaro, Texas Tech, Tight End, Junior – San Antonio, TX (MacArthur HS)
  • Mike Evans, Texas A&M, Wide Receiver, Sophomore – Galveston, TX (Ball HS)
  • James Franklin, Missouri, Quarterback, Senior – Corinth, TX (Lake Dallas, HS)
  • Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M, Quarterback, Sophomore – Kerrville, TX (Tivy HS)
  • *Bryce Petty, Baylor, Quarterback, Junior – Midlothian, HS (Midlothian HS)

2014 Finalists

  • Jay Ajayi, RB, Boise State, Junior – Plano, Texas (Frisco Liberty HS)
  • J. T. Barrett, QB, Ohio State, RS Freshman – Wichita Falls, Texas (Rider HS)
  • *Trevone Boykin, QB, TCU, Junior – Dallas, Texas (West Mesquite HS)
  • Samaje Perine, RB, Oklahoma, Freshman – Pflugerville, Texas (Hendrickson HS)
  • Bryce Petty, QB, Baylor, Senior – Midlothian, Texas (Midlothian HS)

2015 Finalists

  • Trevone Boykin, TCU, QB, Senior – Dallas, Texas (West Mesquite HS)
  • Corey Coleman, Baylor, WR, Junior – Richardson, Texas (Pearce HS)
  • Josh Doctson, TCU, WR, Senior – Mansfield, Texas (Legacy HS)
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB, Junior – Austin, Texas (Lake Travis HS)
  • *Greg Ward, Jr., Houston, QB, Junior – Tyler, Texas (John Tyler HS)

2016 Finalists

  • *D’Onta Foreman, Texas, RB, Junior – Texas City, TX (Texas City HS)
  • Jalen Hurts, Alabama, QB, Freshman – Channelview, TX (Channelview HS)
  • Patrick Mahomes, II, Texas Tech, QB, Junior – Whitehouse, TX (Whitehouse HS)
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB, Junior – Austin, Texas (Lake Travis HS)
  • Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma, WR, Senior – Cameron, TX (Cameron Yoe HS)

2017 Finalists

  • J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, QB, Graduate – Wichita Falls, TX (Rider HS)
  • Ronald Jones, II, USC, TB, Junior – McKinney, TX (McKinney North HS)
  • *Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB, Senior – Austin, TX (Lake Travis HS)
  • Jarrett Stidham, Auburn, QB, Sophomore – Stephenville, TX (Stephenville HS)
  • James Washington, Oklahoma State, WR, Senior – Stamford, TX (Stamford HS)

2018 Finalists

  • Eno Benjamin, Arizona State, RB, Sophomore – Wylie, TX (Wylie East HS) – Pac-12
  • D’Eriq King, Houston, QB, Junior – Manvel, TX (Manvel HS) – American Athletic Conf.
  • Greg Little, Ole Miss, OL, Junior – Allen, TX (Allen HS) – SEC
  • *Kyler Murray, Oklahoma, QB, Junior – Allen, TX (Allen HS) – Big 12
  • Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State, WR, Sophomore – Ft. Worth, TX (South Hills HS) – Big 12
  • Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M, RB, Junior – Houston, TX (C.E. King HS) – SEC

*Denotes winner


The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, announced in 2012 by the Tyler Chamber and SPORTyler, recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year Division I Texas college. 

For more information about The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award go to www.earlcampbellaward.com or contact Cindy Smoak, SPORTyler, Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce: csmoak@tylertexas.com or 903-592-1661, extension 237.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Right Now

NBA Stats

Don't Miss

KETK Twitter & Facebook

Community Calendar