Patrick Mahomes II wins 2016 Sammy Baugh Award for nation’s top collegiate passer

Local News
Texas Tech junior quarterback Patrick Mahomes II has been named the winner of the prestigious 2016 Sammy Baugh Award, presented to college football’s top passer by The Touchdown Club of Columbus. 
The trophy was first presented in 1959 and has been held by legendary passers including Steve Young, John Elway and Bob Griese, among others.  Mahomes joins fellow Red Raiders Graham Harrell (2007), B.J. Symons (2003), and current Texas Tech head coach Kliff Kingsbury (2002) as the fourth Tech quarterback to win the award.
Mahomes has been the nation’s most prolific quarterback in 2016, concluding the regular season leading the FBS in total offense (5,312 yards), passing yards (5,052 yards), points responsible for (318) and total touchdowns (53). 
The Whitehouse, Texas, native also leads the FBS in passing plays of 10+ yards, 20+ yards, 30+ yards and 50+ yards.
Earlier this season, Mahomes set a single-game NCAA record for total offense with 819 yards against Oklahoma. He tied the single-game FBS passing record with 734 yards, while also rushing for a career-high 85 yards. He scored seven total touchdowns in the game, one of his six performances this season with at least five total touchdowns.
He concluded his 2016 campaign with a 586-yard, six-touchdown performance against Baylor, earning the sixth Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week award of his career in the process. The 500-yard performance was one of four this season for Mahomes-no other FBS quarterback hit the 500-yard plateau more than once this season.
The 2016 Sammy Baugh Award will be presented during the 62nd Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards scheduled for Saturday, February 4, 2017 at Express Live! in the Arena District. 

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Right Now

Community Calendar

Don't Miss

KETK Twitter & Facebook

Trending Stories