Houston Astros win the 2017 World Series

Houston captures first World Series title in team history

LOS ANGELES, California (KETK) - Houston you have championship, a World Series Championship that is.

For the first time in their 56-year existence, the Houston Astros are the kings of Major League Baseball.

The Astros defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 Wednesday in Game 7 of the 2017 World Series, culminating a historic Fall Classic.

Outfielder and leadoff hitter George Springers was named the series' Most Valuable Player. He had a World Series-record eight extra base hits in the seven games.

Houston jumped out to a fantastic start, as all five of their runs came off former Texas Ranger Yu Darvish.

The Astros tagged him for two runs in the first and three runs in the second, including Springer's two-run shot, which was a record-tying fifth home run of the World Series.

For his second straight start, Darvish lasted only one-and-two thirds innings.  Those account for the shortest outings of his six-year big league career.

Lance McCullers, Jr., who started for Houston, didn't last too much longer, didn't hesitate to pull the plug when he got into some trouble in the third with two runners aboard with just one out..  But Brad Peacock came in and got two quick outs to preserve the shutout for the time being.

Both teams used at least five pitchers in the contest.  Right-hander Charlie Morton who pitched the last four innings for the Astros got the win.  Darvish was saddled with the loss.

The Astros were 101-61 in the regular season as they ran away with the American League West division title.

They went 11-7 in the post-season and are now bringing back the World Series crown to the city of Houston and the State of Texas just a little over two months after Hurricane Harvey ravaged much of the southeast portion of the Lone Star State.

The Astros win their first title in just their second World Series appearance, after falling short in 2005 when they were swept by the Chicago White Sox.  The Dodgers have six titles but remain without a championship since 1988.

Don't Miss

Trending Stories

Latest News


  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever

  • KETK News

  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever Scoreboard

  • KETK NBC East Texas

  • KFXK Fox51 East Texas

  • MyEastTex Mobile App