Top Stories

Tyler ISD Superintendent defends schools listed on TEA intervention list

TYLER, Texas (KETK) - "What's really puzzling and a little bit comical is one school on the list actually received six out of seven academic distinctions from the state of Texas," Superintendent of Tyler ISD Marty Crawford explained.

The Texas Education Agency has used data from the 2016 accountability report to place schools into categories regarding their need for intervention.

"Our schools that are struggling, you know on one part of this list, we already identified those," Crawford said. "This was from 15-16 school year data."

This is all based off of reading and math scores, plus graduation rates from 2015-2016 but the data is now just coming out.

"Lagging data always presents a problem because you're comparing apples to oranges," Crawford explained. "And again this is another example of why accountability needs to be a little bit more accurate if we're truly going to use it to assist students."

Dogan Middle school, Griffin elementary, Jones elementary, and Robert E Lee were Tyler schools listed as priority and focus schools.

Jacksonville ISD also had four schools listed. Jacksonville high school, Jacksonville middle school, Joe Wright elementary, and Nichols intermediate.

Jacksonville ISD responded to the released data saying "The four Jacksonville ISD campuses recently identified are already well into targeted interventions in identified areas."

They also included that "the implemented programs in these areas during the 16-17 year saw growth in all areas." Both school districts say if there were a more recent set of numbers, this would be a completely different report.


Trinity ISD - Lansberry Elementary School

Broaddus ISD - Broaddus Elementary School

Marshall ISD - Crockett Elementary School, G.W. Carver Elementary School, J.H. Moore Elementary School, Marshall Junior High School, Robert E. Lee Elementary School, William B. Travis Elementary School

Nacogdoches ISD - Emeline Carpenter Intermediate School, Fredonia Elementary School, Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts

San Augustine ISD - San Augustine High School

Pineywoods Community Academy - Pineywoods Community Academy High School

Tyler ISD - Dogan Middle School, Griffin Elementary School, Jones Elementary School

Texarkana ISD - Westlawn Elementary School

"Focus Schools" include 10 percent of Title I schools not already identified as "Priority Schools" with the next lowest achieving campuses based on state accountability identification of Improvement Required and reading/math safeguard performance in the seven federal student groups at the federal safeguard target of 87 percent.

Here is a list of all East Texas schools TEA has listed as needing intervention.


Livingston ISD - Livingston Intermediate School

Trinity ISD - Trinity Junior High School

Palestine ISD - Southside Elementary School, Story Intermediate School

Westwood ISD - Westwood Elementary School

Lufkin ISD - Brookhollow Elementary School, Coston Elementary School

Diboll ISD - H.G. Temple Intermediate School

Jacksonville ISD - Jacksonville High School, Jacksonville Middle School, Joe Wright Elementary School, Nichols Intermediate School

Rusk ISD - Rusk Junior High School

Kilgore ISD - Chandler Elementary School, Kilgore Intermediate School

Longview ISD - Bramlette Elementary School, Johnston-McQueen Elementary School

Pine Tree ISD - Pine Tree Junior High School, Pine Tree Middle School

Marshall ISD - Price T. Young Middle School, Sam Houston Middle School

Athens ISD - Athens High School, Athens Middle School

Nacogdoches ISD - McMichael Middle School, Mike Moses Middle School

Carthage ISD - Baker-Koonce Intermediate School, Libby Elementary School

Tatum ISD - Tatum Middle School

West Rusk ISD - West Rusk Intermediate School

Center ISD - Center Elementary School, Center High School, Center Intermediate School, Center Middle School

Tenaha ISD - Tenaha Schools

Cumberland Academy - Cumberland Academy, Cumberland Academy Middle School

Tyler ISD - Robert E. Lee High School

Chapel Hill ISD (Tyler) - W.L. Kissam Elementary School, Wise Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School

Winona ISD - Winona Middle School

Union Hill ISD - Sharon A. Richardson Elementary School

Sulphur Springs ISD - Sulphur Springs Elementary School

Daingerfield-Lone Star ISD - Daingerfield Junior High School, South Elementary School

Trending Stories

Latest News


  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever

  • KETK News

  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever Scoreboard

  • KETK NBC East Texas

  • KFXK Fox51 East Texas

  • MyEastTex Mobile App