TEA designates many East Texas schools as priority, focus in need of intervention

Tyler, Texas (KETK) - The Texas Education Agency has concluded a plethora of East Texas schools are in need of intervention under a federal accountability program.

Using data obtained from the 2016 Accountability Reports released in August 2016, the TEA has generated a list of priority and focus schools based on statewide reading and mathematics assessments and graduation rates. 

"Priority Schools" include a combination of Texas Title I Priority Schools (TTIPS) from Cycles 3, 4 and 5, Title I schools (schools with a high number of students from low-income families) with graduation rates less than 60 percent, and the lowest achieving Title I campuses based on state accountability identification of Improvement Required and reading/math safeguard performance in the seven federal student groups at the federal safeguard target of 87 percent, according to the TEA.


Trinity ISD - Lansberry Elementary School

Broaddus ISD - Broaddus Elementary School

Marshall ISD - Crockett Elementary School, G.W. Carver Elementary School, J.H. Moore Elementary School, Marshall Junior High School, Robert E. Lee Elementary School, William B. Travis Elementary School

Nacogdoches ISD - Emeline Carpenter Intermediate School, Fredonia Elementary School, Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts

San Augustine ISD - San Augustine High School

Pineywoods Community Academy - Pineywoods Community Academy High School

Tyler ISD - Dogan Middle School, Griffin Elementary School, Jones Elementary School

Texarkana ISD - Westlawn Elementary School

"Focus Schools" include 10 percent of Title I schools not already identified as "Priority Schools" with the next lowest achieving campuses based on state accountability identification of Improvement Required and reading/math safeguard performance in the seven federal student groups at the federal safeguard target of 87 percent.


Livingston ISD - Livingston Intermediate School

Trinity ISD - Trinity Junior High School

Palestine ISD - Southside Elementary School, Story Intermediate School

Westwood ISD - Westwood Elementary School

Lufkin ISD - Brookhollow Elementary School, Coston Elementary School

Diboll ISD - H.G. Temple Intermediate School

Jacksonville ISD - Jacksonville High School, Jacksonville Middle School, Joe Wright Elementary School, Nichols Intermediate School

Rusk ISD - Rusk Junior High School

Kilgore ISD - Chandler Elementary School, Kilgore Intermediate School

Longview ISD - Bramlette Elementary School, Johnston-McQueen Elementary School

Pine Tree ISD - Pine Tree Junior High School, Pine Tree Middle School

Marshall ISD - Price T. Young Middle School, Sam Houston Middle School

Athens ISD - Athens High School, Athens Middle School

Nacogdoches ISD - McMichael Middle School, Mike Moses Middle School

Carthage ISD - Baker-Koonce Intermediate School, Libby Elementary School

Tatum ISD - Tatum Middle School

West Rusk ISD - West Rusk Intermediate School

Center ISD - Center Elementary School, Center High School, Center Intermediate School, Center Middle School

Tenaha ISD - Tenaha Schools

Cumberland Academy - Cumberland Academy, Cumberland Academy Middle School

Tyler ISD - Robert E. Lee High School

Chapel Hill ISD (Tyler) - W.L. Kissam Elementary School, Wise Elementary Fine Arts Magnet School

Winona ISD - Winona Middle School

Union Hill ISD - Sharon A. Richardson Elementary School

Sulphur Springs ISD - Sulphur Springs Elementary School

Daingerfield-Lone Star ISD - Daingerfield Junior High School, South Elementary School

Priority and focus schools are required to designate a District Coordinator of School Improvement (DCSI) and to begin and/or continue engaging in the Texas Accountability Intervention System (TAIS) continuous improvement framework that is aligned around the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) turnaround principles and the Critical Success Factors (CSFs). The district is responsible for assisting identified schools in all aspects of the school improvement process which include data analysis, needs assessment, and developing, implementing, and monitoring a plan for improvement. 

Due in part to the 2017-2018 school year being a transition year, there will not be an exit process for schools identified as priority or focus for 2017-2018 school year. Information on exiting priority or focus status will be released in the fall of 2018 when new priority and focus schools are identified under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) for the 2018-2019 school year.

Don't Miss


  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever

  • KETK News

  • KFXK Fox 51

  • Friday Football Fever Scoreboard

  • KETK NBC East Texas

  • KFXK Fox51 East Texas

  • MyEastTex Mobile App